New poetry & fiction

My poem, “The Senate is dead” can be found at New Verse News: https://newversenews.blogspot.com/2020/02/the-senate-is-dead.html

My story, “Wolf Planet” is over at 365 Tomorrows: https://365tomorrows.com/2020/02/15/wolf-planet/

My poem, “Ralph Nader’s America” is available at Dissident Voice: https://dissidentvoice.org/2020/02/ralph-naders-america/

New writing now available

I am honored to be included in Ron Slate’s On the Seawall where you can read my piece “The vibraphone of God,” a tribute to the late J. Dilla: https://www.ronslate.com/the-vibraphone-of-god/

I am also delighted to have a poem and a flash fiction up at Apricity, the literary magazine of the University of Texas at Austin. You can read my poem, “Blood Wolf Moon” here: https://apricitymagazine.com/portfolio/blood-wolf-moon/

And my fiction, “Belonging” here: https://apricitymagazine.com/portfolio/belonging/

My slipstream story, “Franco’s cigars” can be found over ay 365 Tomorrows: https://365tomorrows.com/2020/01/09/francos-cigars/

New photography

I am very grateful that my photography is currently featured at The Courtship of Winds and Barren Magazine. I have photos set to be published at Floyd County Moonshine which I will share once they are made available.

Barren Magazine: https://barrenmagazine.com/sight/

The Courtship of Winds: https://www.thecourtshipofwinds.org/jeremy-nathan-marks-1 (Hit Next to see the second picture)

New writings up & available

Over the summer, the website Stories of the Nature of Cities released its collection, A Flash of Silver Green which I am privileged to be a part of. My story, “Detroit 2099” is included in Section 3: “Technology”. You can find information about the book here:

https://www.thenatureofcities.com/a-flash-of-silver-green-tnocs-new-book-of-flash-fiction-on-future-cities/?utm_source=Stories+of+TNOC+Submissions+2018&utm_campaign=eb8c7e10b4-EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_2019_12_02_02_06&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_c96e08a490-eb8c7e10b4-66174309#TOC

I have new poetry up at Bewildering Stories: http://www.bewilderingstories.com/issue836/ten_plagues.html

Unlikely Stories: https://www.unlikelystories.org/content/pink-tax-turntable-platform-and-dodo-kin

New Verse News: http://www.newversenews.org/

Plus fiction over at Red Fez: https://www.redfez.net/fiction/detroit-another-month-at-least-970

Thank you for reading!

It has been awhile . . . .

It has been a while since I last posted. In the meantime, I have had some poetry and prose accepted for publication and I can share some of those links here.

At the moment, I find myself in transition. I am working with students both independently and at an independent school but I have elected to focus my writing on fictional and poetic pieces. This is why I have not been posting about education. I have been doing a lot of thinking about classroom democracy and whether the use of the Socratic Method fulfills the democratic ends that, as an educator, I would like to foster in my work. More on that later.

In the meantime, here are some links to a few creative pieces that have appeared since August with more to come as some additional work of mine (poetry, prose, photography) is set to appear in the coming weeks. Thank you for reading. 

https://poetrypacific.blogspot.com/2019/11/1-poem-by-jeremy-nathan-marks.html

People of Earth

http://www.bewilderingstories.com/issue825/hate_body.html

See page 27:

https://wordfountaindotnet.files.wordpress.com/2019/10/63255-word-fountain-final-1.pdf

See page 12-13: